These Aren’t Your Momma’s Sloppy Joes! (well,my Mom anyway)

I grew up on Sloppy Joes or “Manwiches” as they were called in the 70’s. I loved them, they were better than the chicken liver my Mother made us eat! And they were cheap, hence why we were eating them and I suppose forced to eat chicken liver too…. but I digress. Sloppy joes! My Mother-in-law is the best! A few years back she made all of us a book of recipes from her kitchen, which I thought was very thoughtful and something I will forever cherish. In that book was her Sloppy Joe recipe. My family loves this! It is way better than Manwich from a can that is for sure! I want to share it with you! (Diane, I hope you don’t mind;-)

What you need:

  •  1-2 lbs of Hamburger (I used 85%)

  • 1 Green Pepper

  • 1 Onion

  • Buns

  • 1 cup Ketchup

  • 1 Tbsp Mustard

  • 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar

wpid-20141016_164148.jpg

The actual recipe card in the book with her writing!


wpid-20141016_163835.jpg

You saute the pepper and onion first in a little butter or olive oil, then add the meat. Notice that handy dandy tool in there? That is also from my Mom-in-law! It is awesome!

wpid-20141016_163805.jpg

 Once the meat is browned, you throw in the ketchup, mustard and brown sugar! Let is simmer for a little bit-like 10 minutes or more and Voila! You are done! Serve on hamburger buns. They are messy, so I eat mine with a fork!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

